The schooling of gifted children

Guest blogger Tayne Lewis is a ten year old boy of Māori descent. Like many ten year old boys, he’d like point out that he will soon be turning eleven. However, in other ways, Tayne holds some quite different perspectives from most boys his age, as you will see. 

I am happy to write down what may become the best demonstration for gifted schooling in the history of New Zealand.

Why can there not be a school for gifted kids?  Why can’t kids like the ones on GO be treated like others?  What I’m saying is, there should be a public school for gifted children, instead of it being on the internet.

One of the reasons is the cost, depending on what work you are doing.  Some kids would like to go foward, but they are being held back.  Most Gifted Children consider themselves ready for doing all the big things, e.g. going to work or getting a driver’s license, but we are being kept back at a level that the public schools find fit for our age.

A lot of schools don’t have decent teaching for pupils who want more education, most of the work is too young, and some gifted children can get it done in a flash.  It would be nice for teachers to present something that is actually challenging.

I myself like to have enjoyable work.  I like doing animation in programs like Blender 2.60, Blender 2.5 and Blender 2.49b.  And it would be nice to have more reading time, this is the time I am being given at a public school: (5 minutes???), but then it varies with different teachers.

Blender art by Tayne, who also makes Blender dinosaurs.

Also, schools do not seem to give Gifted Children enough education for their favourite topic. When I wanted to learn about Titanic, they would never give me enough help, I even had a whole new perspective of how it sunk, (45 degrees, not 80) which in the end turned out the be right.  So I spent most of my time in the library, so that soon turned out to be my favourite place.   I learn more at the library than at school!!! o_O.

Still, the GC (Gifted Child) is still not free, still, we are treated like rubbish by other children (well, I used to be, I don’t know about you readers… -.-).  Have you ever stopped to notice, how different we all are?  Have you ever stopped to notice, (disregard if you are not one of these people,) that there are many more Gifted Children that get bullied, than there are non Gifted Children.

This is all the reason why gifted education should be brought to a new viewing, GC should be taught about what they want to know, learn new things, not things they already know.  A guy, (I am not going to tell who he is 😐 ) once told me, ‘GC are exceptional children, the most important thing to know, is more working, and less play, (that doesn’t mean no play!)’

If we can, we will be able to look to the future and see all GC being happy, and having their brains filled with knowledge, and will never ever return to the valley of inexperience (that’s a metaphor).  GC should never be treated like rubbish and left to rot (another metaphor!) believing no one likes them.

We cannot go alone.

And as we go, we need to remember, that there are others in the world just like us.  Others who are being held back in education.  Sticking to one subject will never help.

Just remember as you venture through life, education will ring from every mountain top, every mole hole and every, well, everywhere.  I hope these are words of encouragement, and will allow you to realise that you are just as important as others.

Some people are brainy, some people are numb-minded, but remember (I’m using that word alot :P) we are all human.

–Tayne Lewis

P.S: If you didn’t find this entertaining at all, I understand, not even GC are the same! 😛 This is why I created a Garfield vs Odie Portfolio, to see if we are different, and, I was right 🙂

This post is part of the #NZGAW Blog Tour.

Blog Tour icon and link.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in E-Learning, education, gifted, New Zealand, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The schooling of gifted children

  1. Thank you, Tayne, for your insightful post. It makes very good reading for people who need to understand why gifted education is important.

  2. Tracy says:

    Thank you, Tayne, for sharing your perspectives of giftedness! As my kids would tell you, I “teach teachers how to teach gifted children” so I will be sharing your ideas with my students. I agree that not all gifted people are the same, and not all teachers are either.

  3. Stef says:

    Always a good idea to label the metaphors, Tayne–in case the more literal-minded reader doesn’t get it. 🙂 Splendid post! Time, something to learn, the company of peers, challenging work plus some play. How could anybody quibble with that?

  4. Anonymous says:

    Hi Tayne. This writing is very informative; what you say is exactly how I always feel! I enjoyed reading your writing heaps, Tayne. 🙂

  5. So enlightening! Keep advancing, champ 🙂

Leave a Reply

