Hey! I’m one of those people!

Guest blogger Mackenzie writes about her experience of being a gifted child. The art work is by Ella. Both are students of Gifted Online.

Ella

‘Tree of Knowledge’, by Ella. Can you find the hidden paintbrushes in the picture?

My experiences as a gifted child are a little bit different from others. Another Gifted Online student said that normally she finds that gifted children often achieve academically rather then in sports or art. I achieve academically and in sports. For example I love netball and I got into the Central Otago netball representative team in year 6. I like English, maths and science but on the other hand I am not very good at and don’t enjoy doing art.
I find that being gifted makes you different from everyone else in a lot of ways. I found that when I was little I struggled to feel a part of the class. Although I had a lot of friends, I always felt like a bit of a nerd in class because I seemed to know all of the answers to things. I would always be the one who came up with the whacky and quirky ideas. Before I went to One Day School I thought that this made me strange and unusual, and that there was no one else in this world who thought like me, but when I went to One Day School I found that even in a small district like Central Otago, there were a lot of kids like me. One Day School taught me that it was OK to be myself and that being good at something didn’t make me weird, it just made me different and that it was OK.
I notice that generally gifted children are more open minded and free thinking. You tend to grasp new concepts quickly and can understand and explore new topics in depth. We tend to strive to work to the best of our ability. You always try had, you always give your 100% effort.
Although I enjoy being a high achiever and being successful at school and in sport, I find that by constantly trying to be the best, I have become a bit of a perfectionist. I always have to give 100% in everything that I do but if I don’t reach my own expectations, I feel annoyed and feel that I have to go back and do better. This causes a lot of worry and anxiety that I have to control. I understand that I don’t have to be perfect all of the time but this is something that makes me the person that I am today.
Everyone has stress in life and everyone forgets things. Kids normally stress about homework and friends and stuff like that. The thing I like about Gifted Online is that there is no dead set time that the work has to be completed by. We have to work until it is to the very best of our ability however long that takes. We are allowed to explore further into subjects if we wish and the work is always different and fun.
Gifted Awareness Week is all about raising awareness for the gifted and I think that it is great that they do this because it gives every gifted child the opportunity to feel like they belong and also so gifted children can say “Hey, I’m one of those people”.

Blog Tour icon and link.Find other #NZGAW Blog Tour posts at ultranet.giftededucation.org.nz/WebSpace/1104/.

You can contribute to gifted awareness by reading, writing or sharing posts. Please also consider talking to a parent, a teacher, a school board member or a principal about giftedness. If at all possible, write to your Member of Parliament.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in E-Learning, education, gifted, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hey! I’m one of those people!

  1. Lily says:

    Thank you Mackenzie for sharing your story with us. I think it is very detailed and that’s a really good thing! Ella, you are a very good artist. Well done!

Leave a Reply

