Kids Call for Fair Funding

Guest bloggers April and Zoe are students at Gifted Kids. They explain how much this means to them, and call for sufficient funding to make their programme available to others who need it.

Art by students at Gifted Kids, with thanks to art tutor Tony Pope, who helped the children achieve such wonderful results.

Art by students at Gifted Kids, with thanks to art tutor Tony Pope.

Hello,

My name is April and I have been going to Gifted Kids for nearly a year and a half. I think it is VERY unfair that children that have special talents in specific areas don’t get the chance they need to develop and explore them. I am very lucky, because I go to Gifted Kids in Rotorua.We used to have FIVE DAYS of gifted learning but because Gifted Kids is not funded by the government we have been forced to reduce to only THREE DAYS  of gifted learning. IT NEEDS TO CHANGE!  To make this change I suggest the government start funding Gifted Kids right away. Why shouldn’t we have the chance we need? We have as much right as anyone to learn !!

Thank You.
From April,
Aged 10

Art by students of Gifted Kids, Rotorua.

Art by students of Gifted Kids, Rotorua.

I have been going to Gifted Kids for two years and I love it, even though I only come here once a week. I learn more that one day than what I learn the four days I go to my own school. I am in the top group of reading, maths and writing and that isn’t even enough to feed my craving to learn. I get so frustrated because I do not get a challenge. It would be great if the government would fund Gifted Kids so we are able to carry on coming here every week.

From Zoe,
Aged 9.

Blog Tour icon and link.Find other #NZGAW Blog Tour posts at ultranet.giftededucation.org.nz/WebSpace/1104/.

You can contribute to gifted awareness by reading, writing or sharing posts. Please also consider talking to a parent, a teacher, a school board member or a principal about giftedness. If at all possible, write to your Member of Parliament.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

