Cody’s Story

Guest blogger Cody was finding school such a tough place to be a gifted kid that it affected his health. Thank you, Cody, for sharing your story.

Turtle by Cody

Turtle by Cody

Hi I’m Cody and I’m 8 and this is my story for how I got in GO.

Last year in 2013 I started to get sick, I was vomiting, pale and floppy.

After spending lots of time in hospital having tests (It hurt when they put a needle In my arm) nothing showed up.

The doctors decided that I may be worried about some things so they sent me to another doctor this time without needles, instead they had really fun games and asked a few questions (isometric testing).

The results were that I’m highly gifted and the GO program was recommended because they thought that my sickness was because of anxieties and boredom through regular schooling.  

Mum approached the school but sadly they didn’t fund me for GO so we did it anyway.

Since starting GO, I have made friends who play some games that I do and understand me, I finally get a day off school where I can choose what I learn and can challenge my brain more, and have lots of fun doing it.

I no longer get pale and floppy I still have some days when I feel a bit sick but think that joining the GO program has been the best decision we have ever made and I wish it was more than one day a week.

and this is just the beginning of my story, the future is looking bright…

By Cody

🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Blog Tour icon and link.Find other #NZGAW Blog Tour posts at ultranet.giftededucation.org.nz/WebSpace/1104/.

You can contribute to gifted awareness by reading, writing or sharing posts. Please also consider talking to a parent, a teacher, a school board member or a principal about giftedness. If at all possible, write to your Member of Parliament.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in E-Learning, education, gifted and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cody’s Story

  1. Nikki says:

    Cody, I am so glad you are feeling better and healthier attending GO school. Mary and her students are wonderful aren’t they? Its so important to feel connected, understood, and to learn at the right level for you. My son is also 8, (well nearly) and he also felt a lot better having a day off normal school to go to GO school. He stopped having nightmares and biting his nails, and started feeling a lot happier again. Its interesting, both he and I would like him to attend GO school all the time. Today, I was thinking how wonderful it would be if Mary and Co. set up a Gifted School……..! By the way, your art work is incredible; I was surprised after looking at it to see you were 8!

  2. Madelaine says:

    Thank you Cody for sharing your story. I’m so sorry that happened for you but glad you have found one day school. My son had a similar experience so you are not alone.

  3. Flick says:

    The future and YOUR future certainly is looking bright Cody. Great of you to share your story and great you are feeling a whole heap happier. My son used to call One Day School (with Mary) his “happy place.” He had 6 wonderful years there and we never stopped wishing it was Five Day School. Being or connecting with other similar kids is such an important part of feeling a sense of belonging and community connectedness for gifted kids. So often mainstream school just doesn’t understand or support this. Keep enjoying your GO program Cody and having that wonderful mind of yours challenged.

  4. Kelli says:

    As Codys mum I am so proud he could put this in a blog, Cody doesn’t express himself very well in a face to face conversation as he can be shy. Thank you for your supporting comments above and we as a family look forward to seeing Cody grow and succeed in life now he has GO and Mary and the other children I have seen him grow in just the few months he has been in the programme. The more awareness and support out there the better. My little man has changed and come out of his shell so much.

  5. Lisa says:

    Cody, I’m SO happy for you! It’s really hard when people don’t understand different kind of people. I’m really glad you found a place with people who do understand. I wish my son who just turned 9 had a place like that too!

  6. Lily says:

    Hi Cody
    I, as a fellow gifted child, can really relate to this. Sometimes, I just get REALLY bored at school. Sadly I have not had the opportunity to go to ODS however I am so grateful for GO.

  7. Hanlie says:

    Well done for sharing your story Cody! Isn’t it amazing how our body and mind are intertwined – your body was telling you that your inner person needed help! It’s so good to know that you (like my children too!) have found somewhere where you get the challenges and the understanding you need to stay well mentally and physically!

Leave a Reply

