Programmes Matter!

Students from Gifted Kids explain how important quality learning is to them. The accompanying art was created by students of the Gifted Kids programme, supported by art tutor Amy Evans.

I think that the government SHOULD fund One Day School / Gifted Kids because if I lose this I will have pretty much nothing. At school what I learn is limited to what the others around me need. It’s like putting me back in kindy!!! But at Gifted Kids the others and I can learn at our personnel level. I mean I am an advanced reader and what I learn is EXTREMELY limited but when I go to Gifted Kids you can have Challenges!!  So please! If I haven’t changed your mind, arrange a visit! See how much we challenge ourselves!!
-Zalome, aged 12

DSCF6668
At normal school I am often bored when we do writing. We always write either descriptions or recounts. Before I went to the Gifted Kids Programme, I wanted so much to write narratives and poems, but my teacher thought that it was wrong for me to write differently to my peers because they were not up to those standards!
It made me feel very frustrated.
Now that I go to the Gifted Kids Programme, I am free to write anything!
Sadly, some gifted kids are not as lucky.
We need more days of the Gifted Kids Programme, and in order to do so the the Government needs to give us funds!
Hopefully we can persuade them to donate.
-Kiana, aged 10

The Gifted Kids Programme is so important to me. At my normal school here in Rotorua our work is way, way too easy. I started coming to Gifted Kids when I was eight and it felt like it changed my life. At school I am different but here it’s really neat having friends similar to me. I ask my teacher to make my work harder but she just can’t. So going to GKP is so awesome. I think the government needs to set up more programmes for gifted kids and I think we need to spread the word. I love the challenges and how we get to share our ideas with EVERYONE!!!!
-Daniel, aged 10

DSCF6945
I think that the government should fund Gifted Kids because so far the money situation has only become worse. Here we used to be a 5 day school but now we only run 3 days a week Tues-Thurs . I am a new student at Gifted Kids and it is a great experience. Before I had started at Gifted Kids I was being held back from what I was truly capable of. I come to Gifted Kids once a week on a Thursday and every week I improve on my art, mathematics, creative thinking and my overall learning needs.
I would come home babbling on about how much fun I had and the new things I discovered and learnt so I would very much appreciate it if the government funded Gifted Kids. And I would appreciate it if people would become MORE AWARE OF GIFTEDNESS.
-Meihana, aged 11

Gifted Kids is very important to me, because it is the only day in the week where I can work with people like me and challenge myself at things which I normally wouldn’t.
-Nathan, aged 13

DSCF6965
Gifted kids lets me learn lots of new things. We work work on our gifts to turn them into talents but at school we just do things that I already know. In maths I’m working well above everyone but it’s still easy. In writing we do boring stuff like recounts when I would love to write a fantasy novel. I wish the teachers would give me work that makes me think hard and be creative. I want to be able to work on my gifts and improve them. I want to push my gifts to the extreme. The Gifted Kids programme lets me work on talents and make them better.
-Jasper, aged 10

The importance of learning for gifted kids is critical but normal schools don’t provide that much learning for just a small amount of kids. That’s why I think that the government needs to fund the Gifted Kids Program.
By Caleb, aged 11

Blog Tour icon and link.Find other #NZGAW Blog Tour posts at ultranet.giftededucation.org.nz/WebSpace/1104/.

You can contribute to gifted awareness by reading, writing or sharing posts. Please also consider talking to a parent, a teacher, a school board member or a principal about giftedness. If at all possible, write to your Member of Parliament.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in education, gifted, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Programmes Matter!

  1. I love hearing from all of the students, but I also became really interested in their artistic creations! Can you explain how they were created?

  2. Vanessa says:

    What wonderful compelling reasons for the government to listen to! Great writing and amazing artwork! Some of you avid writers might be interested in Nanowrimo…http://nanowrimo.org

Leave a Reply

