All I Want is to Learn

Guest blogger Tayne talks about what he wants as a learner, and the frustrations for him and for his mother in accessing that. Tayne is a student of Gifted Online.

Digital art by Tayne.

Digital art by Tayne.

Since starting a public school, I found no stimulation for my learning ability, from day one when I started in the primers to now which is Intermediate. I am 12 years of age. I have been accused of having behavioral problems, to having assessments (and the school did not adhere to what was asked of them, and that was to accommodate for my ability, the testing results, were all there) they chose to ignore it and kept the results all to themselves and not share with my mum, to being asked to go see a Doctor, to my mum being almost accused of being a negligent mother, and now I am at Child and Adolescent being assessed all over again, the principal wasn’t pleased with the letter from Child & Adolescent, so I have had to go back and do more tests, which I enjoyed, they were challenging.

All I want is to learn. I know things, I want to share, I want to show what I can do, they were not interested, instead they pushed me away. In primary school I was moved around from class to class because they did not know what to do with me. I WAS BORED!! I know I was/am slightly different to other children, but I don’t see me as the one with the problem. We need a different educational system for our learning, we all learn in different ways and this standardised idea of learning does not suit every child/person. Meeting Mary St George online at Gifted Online, was a good thing for me and mum. Helped me get out and show what I’m capable of, I am not directed out of my comfort zone. I am encouraged to go with what interests me, and this is nice. My work is not marked or judged in any way and there are no tests with marks, to ridicule the other children, or myself, nor is there a persistence for me to do work that is of no interest or use to me now or in the future. There is just ‘direction’ when I need or ask for it. And all that is asked of us children is to give a positive feedback to the other children’s work.

Blog Tour icon and link.Find other #NZGAW Blog Tour posts at ultranet.giftededucation.org.nz/WebSpace/1104/.

You can contribute to gifted awareness by reading, writing or sharing posts. Please also consider talking to a parent, a teacher, a school board member or a principal about giftedness. If at all possible, write to your Member of Parliament.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in education, gifted and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to All I Want is to Learn

  1. Ben says:

    Hi I like your pic same thing happened to me with the school problem.Do you want to skype?
    Do you like science? I like it.

Leave a Reply

