My Mind is Full of Stars

Hamilton MindPlus students were asked to express, in very few words, what gifted children want from teachers, and what they value as learners. What they wrote was the high point of my day, and I hope you’ll love it just as much.

You’ve come to the right place to find chantable slogans for Gifted Awareness Week:
Top teacher time makes tons of fun. Hamish.
Gifted kids want to learn, learn, learn. Niamh.
Gifted kids, gifted kids, need fun teachers. Conor.
Gifted kids like to learn, explore, do. Hamish.
Learners want fun school, please, please, please! Jackson.

Today I learnt that I took the wrong courses in my teacher education, because…
Better teachers always read your mind. Nisha.

Gifted children have some inspiring advice for teachers:
Teach us, but do it right. Isobel.
Gifted students have great expectations – reach them. Leia.
My mind is a lion. Tame it. Isobel.
Leave my mind undomesticated, open and free. Thoughts are endless. Leia.
My mind is full of stars. Make constellations. Isobel.

Gifted children know about the very best teachers:
Our minds are like races. Teachers help us win. Leia.
Good teachers make students go “WOW!!” Jackson.
Teachers excite children with fantastic, brilliant ideas. Niamh.
Gifted kids say, “Cool! Some awesome teachers!” Finn.
Awesome teachers know how to make learning fun. Conor.
Gifted kids’ mums are often their best teachers. Bethan.
Good teachers create chances to make friends. Seb.

Gifted children love to question:
Who taught the sun to be bright? Leia.

Gifted children value fun, challenge and acceptance:
Gifted kids want to feel challenged. By Isobel.
Learning to draw is my favourite new challenge. Seb.
Awesome gifted kids need gifted brains. Nisha.
Gifted kids just really like maths. Bethan.
Learners want excellent learning, and some really yay, yay, yay, fun school. Finn.
Gifted kids want to feel accepted. By Isobel.

And gifted children can write poetic paradox, too:
The universe is a fraction of the mind. Leia.

#NZGAW Blog TourImage Credit: The Jewel Box Cluster image is by the European Southern Observatory, via Wikimedia Commons, and has an attribution license.

Find other #NZGAW Blog Tour posts at http://giftededucation.ultranet.school.nz/WebSpace/1286/.

About Mary St George

I teach in gifted education, both online and face-to-face.
This entry was posted in education, gifted and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Mind is Full of Stars

  1. Hannah says:

    Wonderful! What a cool bunch 🙂

  2. margaretsmn says:

    Great quotes from real kids. My favorite, “My mind is full of stars. Make constellations.” Gifted kids have a deeper understanding of metaphor that often makes me say, “Wow!”

  3. Vicki says:

    I agree – I love Isobel’s quote about constellations!

  4. ljconrad says:

    This is a great idea. I wish more teachers would be confident enough in themselves to ask their students for honest evaluations. They might be surprised!

  5. jofreitag says:

    Love these quotes especially My mind is full of stars and Who taught the sun to be bright? Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

